个人防护设备和对环境的不利影响。

自从我们在2020年2月底发布了第一篇关于香港偏远的索罟岛被冲上一次性口罩的调查结果后,我们就接到了大量的媒体咨询。起初只是一个简单的帖子,目的是提醒人们更负责任,以正确的方式处理他们的口罩,但现在已经有超过1900多篇个人新闻文章被写到地球上几乎所有国家,从俄语西班牙语印尼语日语匈牙利语等多种语言!我们的视频已经被各大新闻媒体报道。我们的视频已经被主要的新闻网络,如BBC,ABC,CGTNSKY新闻和更多。我们的信息一直很简单....

戴上口罩!!!

然而,在不久的将来,这种大流行病将继续存在,现在我们已经进入第八个月,我们需要更加可持续发展。产生的废物数量是一个天文数字,给我们的废物管理设施带来了压力。在疫情发生之前,许多国家的废物管理系统已经很难跟上过度消费和浪费的生活方式。现在,随着公众集体使用个人防护设备,这些系统已经无法应对。

许多生产可重复使用的口罩的新公司都与我们接触过,其中有些比其他的好,但由于我们不是医疗专业人员,我们不愿意特别推荐任何一种。其中一些比其他更好,由于我们不是医疗专业人员,我们一直不愿意推荐任何特别的,它的长和短是,任何可重复使用的口罩将是更好的环境,从一个简单的布覆盖,到一个完整的N95级口罩。很多人联系我们,问我们有什么建议/使用,所以我们决定分享一个公司,我们觉得有好的产品,有环保信誉,并分享我们的价值观。

Cuvcov口罩是一种保护自己免受95%的细菌、病毒、花粉和灰尘等污染的方法。他们的目标是提供一个简单而又智能的面罩,提供最好的质量,舒适度和风格,同时也意识到我们与他人共享的世界.他们还为每售出一个面罩捐赠一个面罩给需要的人。

*** 我们不会从推广CUVCOV产品中获得任何经济收益 ***。

我们想说明的是,如果您没有可重复使用的口罩,或者口罩不适合您的情况,那么请尽量使用一次性产品,只是请确保该口罩被妥善处理。我们还想说明的是,Cuvcov和其他可重复使用的口罩虽好,但并非医疗级,任何在医疗环境中工作或进入医疗环境的人都应使用医疗级的一次性口罩。然而,对于日常使用,在汽车、超市和办公室,这些可重复使用的口罩结合良好的个人卫生,使用酒精洗手液保持手部清洁,并避免接触脸部,就足够了。

海洋生物面临的个人防护设备威胁

在世界各地使用的一次性口罩和乳胶手套,现在在许多海岸线上、海浪上和海浪下,以及在公园里、公共交通工具上和我们的街道上,都能看到它们的身影。请记住,所有的排水沟都是通向海洋的,这也是口罩进入我们环境的一种方式。它们对海洋生物构成的威胁是巨大的。

如果动物将塑料误认为是食物,这是很常见的情况,塑料
会填满胃部,减少食物摄入量,导致动物饥饿和死亡。海洋塑料会吸附毒素和有机污染物,也就是说,污染物的颗粒会附着在塑料表面形成一层有毒的薄膜。因此,摄入塑料的海洋动物也会中毒。它可能会直接杀死它们,或者削弱它们,使它们更容易受到其他威胁。摄入的塑料会损害幼鱼的繁殖、生长和发育。

漂浮的塑料可以作为传播入侵物种的媒介,毒害和窒息珊瑚,并可能缠绕海洋动物,导致行动不便、感染、截肢、饥饿、窒息和死亡。  

我们最近拍摄了一些面具,这些面具是我们在通往我们一直在监测的索科斯海滩的海湾的水下发现的。我们发现口罩在鬼网(丢失或丢弃的渔具)和其他碎片中被抓住,还有一个是自由漂浮的。令人震惊的是,塑料污染是如何在水体中移动的,与水母非常相似,这使得以水母为食的海龟严重关切。最近的一项研究发现,海洋塑料污染上的藻类生长也可能鼓励海龟吃海洋塑料。

塑料一旦进入海洋环境,并不会消失,而是会分解成越来越小的碎片,对整个食物网造成破坏。一张面膜可能需要数百年的时间才能分解成微塑料,这种微塑料现在被发现在供人类食用的鱼、海盐,甚至是海雾中!我们要防止每一块塑料进入海洋环境,就必须要有一个良好的环境。

我们防止进入海洋的每一块塑料都很重要!

一次性使用的面罩在水下被困在鬼网中。

PPE & THE NEGATIVE EFFECTS ON THE ENVIRONMENT

Since our first post at the end of February 2020 regarding our findings of single-use face masks washing up on the remote Soko Islands in Hong Kong, we have been inundated with media inquiries. What started out as a simple post to remind people to be more responsible and to dispose of their masks in a correct manner, has had over 1,900+ individual news articles written in almost every country on Earth, in multiple languages from Russian to Spanish, Indonesian, JapaneseHungarian, and more! Our videos have been featured on major news networks such as the BBC, ABC, CGTN, SKY News and many more. Our message has been simple….

WEAR A FACE MASK!!!!

However, the pandemic is here to stay for the immediate future, and now that we are into our eighth month, we need to be more sustainable. The amount of waste being produced is astronomical and places a strain on our waste management facilities. Prior to the pandemic, the waste management systems of many countries were already struggling to keep up with excessive consumption and wasteful lifestyles. Now, with the addition of personal protective equipment (PPE) used by the general public en masse, these systems are failing to cope.

We have been approached by many new companies that produce REUSABLE masks. Some of these are better than others, and as we are not medical professionals, we have been reluctant to recommend any in particular, The long and short of it is, ANY reusable mask is going to be better for the environment, from a simple cloth covering, to a full blown N95 rated mask. Many people have contacted us asking what we suggest/use, so we have decided to share a company that we came across that we feel have good products, that has environmental credibility, and that shares our values.

Cuvcov face masks are a way to protect yourself from 95% of polluting micro-particles like bacteria, viruses, pollen, and dust. Their aim is to provide a simple yet smart face cover that offers the best quality, comfort, and style while also being conscious about the world we share with others.They also donate one mask for each mask sold to someone in need.

*** WE DO NOT RECEIVE ANY FINANCIAL GAIN FROM PROMOTING CUVCOV PRODUCTS ***

We would like to be very clear, if you do not have a reusable mask available or if one is not appropriate in your situation, then by all means use a single-use product, just please ensure that this mask is disposed of properly. We would also like to state that Cuvcov and other re-usable masks while good, ARE NOT MEDICAL GRADE, and anyone working in a medical environment or entering a medical environment should use a MEDICALLY RATED single-use mask. However, for day to day use, in the car, supermarket, and office, these reusable masks are more than adequate in combination with good personal hygiene, using alcohol hand gel to keep your hands clean, and avoiding touching your face.

PPE THREATS TO MARINE WILDLIFE

The single-use masks and latex gloves that have been used across the world are now being found on many coastlines, above and below the waves, as well as in parks, on public transport, and in our streets. Remember, all drains lead to the ocean, and this is one way that masks are entering our environment. The threat they pose to marine life is significant.

If an animal mistakes plastic for food, which is sadly a common occurrence, the plastic 
can fill stomachs, reducing food intake, causing animals to starve and die. Marine plastic adsorbs toxins and organic pollutants, which means that particles of pollutants adhere to the surface of the plastic as a toxic film. As a result, marine animals that ingest plastic can also be poisoned. It may kill them outright, or weaken them, making them more susceptible to other threats. Ingested plastic can impair reproduction, growth, and development of young. 

Floating plastic can serve as a vector for spreading invasive species, poison and smother corals, and can entangle marine animals, leading to impaired mobility, infection, limb amputation, starvation, suffocation, and death.  

We recently filmed some masks that we discovered underwater in the bay leading into the beach we have been monitoring in the Sokos. We found masks caught in a ghost net (lost or discarded fishing gear) and other debris, as well as one that was free floating. It was alarming to see how is plastic pollution moved in the water column, very similar to jellyfish, making this a serious concern to turtles that predate on jellyfish. A recent study found that the algal growth on marine plastic pollution may also encourage sea turtles to eat marine plastic. 

Once plastic enters the marine environment it doesn’t disappear, but breaks down into smaller and smaller pieces, wreaking havoc throughout the food web. A single face mask could take hundreds of years to break down into microplastic, the kind of microplastic is now being found in fish destined for human consumption, sea salt, and even sea spray

Every piece of plastic we prevent from entering our oceans is important!

A single use face mask underwater trapped in a ghost net.
Close Menu
×
×

Cart