即时发布

香港首次发布无鳍江豚的镜头。OceansAsia呼吁采取紧急保育措施
 

OceansAsia发布了这份关于香港本地印度洋-太平洋无鳍豚(Neophocaena phocaenoides)种群现状的报告。过去几年,冲上香港海滩的无鳍江豚死亡事件不断增加,2019年是迄今为止最严重的一年(43起搁浅事件)。总部设在香港的海洋保护组织OceansAsia在报告中详细介绍了目前对这些难以捉摸的鲸类动物的了解,并概述了六项关键建议,以确保这些海洋哺乳动物得到保护。

该报告发布的同时,印度洋-太平洋无鳍江豚的无人机镜头也首次出现。本月早些时候,OceansAsia拍摄到了一群无鳍江豚在香港海域聚集的视频画面。这是很罕见的现象,因为这些动物很少成群结队地聚集,据我们所知,这是有史以来第一次在香港水域拍摄到该物种的视频片段。

该报告提出了六项建议,OceansAsia认为,为了更好地了解常住人口和保护这一重要物种,需要提出这些建议。

  • 进行一次全面的江豚种群调查。
  • 在南丫岛西南沿海建立一个海洋公园。
  • 遵循一致的搁浅报告和综合分析。
  • 采用一致的区域报告和分析;
  • 修订《野生动物保护条例》。
  • 增加和改进渔业观察。

"上一次对香港无鳍豚种群的全面研究是在2002年进行的,估计种群数量为220只。我们无法知道这个数字是否还能反映当前的数量。"OceansAsia研究总监、报告作者Teale Phelps Bondaroff博士说。"如果没有明确的种群估计,我们无法知道最近搁浅的影响。"

去年(2019年)是有记录以来无鳍江豚搁浅最严重的一年,有43只动物被发现死亡。2018年,有33只动物被记录死亡,2020年(截至5月16日),已经有15只搁浅。生物学家认为,江豚年死亡率大于4-5%是不可持续的。需要注意的是,海洋哺乳动物搁浅计划只对发现的动物进行统计,这意味着死亡率数字可能要高得多。

"缺乏明确的搁浅江豚死亡原因也让保护工作受挫,"菲尔普斯-邦达夫解释说。"我们呼吁进行一次全面的无鳍江豚种群调查,以及一致和详细的搁浅报告,并呼吁在南丫岛西南海岸建立一个海洋公园,因为那里是无鳍江豚的关键栖息地。"

林赛-波特博士是一位著名的海洋生物学家,其工作重点是研究印度洋-太平洋地区的座头海豚、无鳍豚和其他受人类及其活动影响的热带海洋哺乳动物。波特博士和她在香港的团队一直在进行一项声学监测计划,旨在确定香港的个体密度。聆听江豚独特的咔嚓声和嗡嗡声,是监测这种难以见到的物种的最佳方法之一。波特博士打算对整个香港的栖息地进行全面的空中勘察,以期能最准确地估计本地江豚的数量。

"这种难以捉摸的海洋哺乳动物多年来一直让我着迷。它们的隐秘行为让使用通常的船载调查方法感到沮丧,然而新工具的使用--无人机和易于部署的声学设备--正在揭示这个魅力十足的物种的更多行为和生活史,"波特博士解释道。"我担心的是,当我们慢慢了解这个种群更多的生活习惯和生活方式时,我们将为时已晚,无法拯救它们,因为死亡的江豚数量每年都在急剧增加。"

"随着这段香港无鳍豚镜头的发布,科学家们第一次看到了这种害羞的动物的行为,"OceansAsia运营总监Gary Stokes说。"正如已故的雅克-伊夫-库斯托船长曾经说过的那样,'人们保护他们所爱的东西',我们希望一旦人们看到并了解我们的无鳍江豚常驻种群,就会采取更多的努力来保护它们。"

"警钟应该敲响,然而却没有。"斯托克斯说。"我们这份报告的目的是在为时已晚之前,让人们关注这种动物。"

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

First ever footage of Hong Kong’s finless porpoise released: OceansAsia calls for urgent conservation measures
 

OceansAsia released this report on the current status of the local Indo-Pacific Finless Porpoise (Neophocaena phocaenoides) populations in Hong Kong. The past several years have seen an increase in dead finless porpoises washing up on Hong Kong beaches, with 2019 being the worst year to date (43 strandings). In the report, OceansAsia, a Hong Kong-based marine conservation organization, details the current knowledge about these elusive cetaceans and outlines six key recommendations to ensure that these marine mammals are protected.

The report coincides with the release of the first ever drone footage of the Indo-Pacific finless porpoise. Earlier this month, OceansAsia captured video footage of a pod of finless porpoises gathering in Hong Kong waters. This is a rare occurrence, as these animals seldom gather in large groups, and to our knowledge, this is the first ever video footage of this species in Hong Kong waters.

The report makes six recommendations that OceansAsia feel are needed in order to better understand the resident population and protect this important species:

  • Conduct a comprehensive finless porpoise population survey.
  • Establish a marine park in the southwest coast of Lamma Island.
  • Follow consistent stranding reporting and comprehensive analysis.
  • Adopt consistent regional reporting and analysis.
  • Amend the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance.
  • Increase and improve fisheries observation.

“The last comprehensive study of the population of Hong Kong finless porpoise was carried out in 2002 and estimated the population to be 220 animals. We have no way of knowing whether this number is still reflective of the current population,” says Dr. Teale Phelps Bondaroff, Director of Research for OceansAsia and author of the report. “Without a clear population estimate, we cannot know the impact of recent strandings.”

Last year (2019) was the worst year on record for finless porpoise stranding, with 43 animals being found dead. In 2018, 33 animals were recorded dead, and in 2020 (as of May 16th), there have been 15 strandings. Biologists consider annual mortality rates for porpoise greater than 4-5% to be unsustainable. It is important to note that the Marine Mammal Stranding program counts only animals that are found, which means that the mortality numbers are likely much higher.

“A lack of clearly identified causes of death for stranded porpoise is also frustrating conservation efforts,” explains Phelps Bondaroff. “We are calling for a comprehensive finless porpoise population survey, along with consistent and detailed stranding reporting, and for the establishment of a marine park in the southwest coast of Lamma Island which is key finless porpoise habitat.”

Dr. Lindsay Porter is a prominent marine biologist whose work focuses on Indo-Pacific humpback dolphins, finless porpoise and other tropical marine mammals which are impacted by humans and their activities. Dr. Porter and her team in Hong Kong have been conducting an acoustic monitoring program, aimed at determining the density of individuals in Hong Kong. Listening to the distinctive clicking and buzzing sounds of porpoise is one of the best ways to monitor this difficult to see species. Dr. Porter intends to conduct a comprehensive aerial survey of the entire Hong Kong habitat, with a view to being able to estimate the population size of the local finless porpoise with the highest accuracy.

“This elusive marine mammal has fascinated me for years. Their cryptic behavior has frustrated the use of the usual boat-based surveys, however the use of new tools – drones and easily deployed acoustic devices – are revealing more of this charismatic species’ behavior and life history,” explains Dr. Porter. “My worry is that as we slowly learn more of this population’s habits and lifestyle, we will be too late to save them, as the number of dead porpoise is increasing dramatically every year.”

“With the release of this footage of the finless porpoises in Hong Kong, scientists get their first glimpse into the behaviour of this shy animal,” says Gary Stokes, Operations Director for OceansAsia. “As the late Capt. Jacque Yves Cousteau once said, ‘people protect what they love’ and it is our hope that once people see and know about our resident population of finless porpoises, more efforts will be taken to protect them.”

“Alarm bells should be ringing, yet they are not,” says Stokes. “Our aim for this report is to shine the spotlight on this animal before it is too late.”

Close Menu
×
×

Cart