调查航运业内的
野生动物犯罪路线。

集装箱航运--野生动物犯罪集团选择的渠道

野生动物犯罪作为四大严重的有组织犯罪之一,正迅速得到各国政府的更多关注,仅次于毒品贩运、非法武器贸易和人口走私。迄今为止,海运集装箱是非法野生动物产品最广泛选择的运输方式。这主要是由于每年在全球范围内流动的集装箱运输量巨大,而当局方面有效检查和监控这些集装箱的能力有限。例如,2017年香港处理了2080万个二十英尺当量单位(TEU)。

航运在很大程度上是以信任为基础的,政府依靠托运人对他们在集装箱内包装的货物进行诚实申报。不幸的是,集装箱运输的一个重要问题是对所运货物的错误申报。对货物征收的税款差别很大,为了支付较低的税款,经常会有各种各样的货物被误报。  

如果有人想运输野生动物部件,而被拦截和搜查的可能性很小,只需使用从较低的相关货物清单中选择的宽泛或模糊的描述进行申报。这甚至可以在技术上不撒谎。例如,标为"干海产品"的货物可能包含价值较低的干鳕鱼头,但也可能包含受保护的物种,如干鱼翅或极度濒危的totoaba鱼鳔,这两种产品都是高价值产品,将适用较高的税率,以及潜在的贸易限制或禁令。

进入港口的集装箱的速度和数量都相当大,而海关当局的资源一般都很有限,因此,不可能对每个集装箱进行检查。例如,进入美国的集装箱中,只有不到5%的集装箱经过扫描,更不用说进行实际检查了。鉴于涉及的集装箱数量庞大,当局严重依赖载货单据和原产国等因素,以选择集装箱进行有针对性的检查。由于官员们疲于应付,而且由于野生动物产品在优先关注项目清单上排名很靠后,声称载有野生动物产品的集装箱往往不经检查就被放行。

每年有超过8千万个集装箱被运走,不可能对每一个到达国家的货物进行检查。

我们的工作

OceansAsia调查船运文件和舱单,以确定主要航线和船运参与者,以便向海关提供情报和潜在目标集装箱的提前通知。我们还与船运和航空公司密切合作,以帮助改善他们的内部系统,以减少野生动物在船上走私的机会。

由于我们工作的性质,我们不能分享我们的方法或策略。以情报为基础的保护就是要领先野生动物贩运者一步。

INVESTIGATING WILDLIFE CRIME ROUTES WITHIN
THE SHIPPING INDUSTRY

Container Shipping - The chosen conduit for wildlife crime syndicates

Wildlife crime is rapidly gaining more attention of governments as being one of the top four serious organised crimes, falling just behind drugs trafficking, the illicit arms trade, and people smuggling. Shipping containers are by far the most widely chosen method of transport for illicit wildlife products. This is largely due to the sheer volume of container traffic moving around globally each year, and the limited capacity on the part of authorities to effectively inspect and monitor these containers. For example, in 2017 Hong Kong handled 20.8 million twenty-foot equivalent units (TEUs).

Shipping is heavily based on trust, with governments relying on shippers to make honest declarations of the goods they pack inside containers. Unfortunately, a significant issue with container shipping is the misdeclaration of goods carried. Taxes charged on goods vary considerably, and a wide range of goods will often be misdeclared in order to pay lower taxes.  

Someone wanting to ship wildlife parts with minimal chance of them being stopped and searched only needs to declare using a broad or vague description selected from lower down lists of concerned goods. This can even be done without technically lying. For example, a shipment labelled as ‘dried seafood’ could contain low-value dried cod heads which incur a low tax, but could also contain protected species such as dried shark fin or highly endangered totoaba swim bladders, both of which are high-value products for which higher tax rates would apply, as well as potential trade restrictions or prohibitions.

The speed and volume of shipping containers entering a port is considerable and customs authorities generally have limited resources, as a result, inspecting every container is impossible. For example fewer than 5% of shipping containers entering the United States are scanned, let alone given a physical inspection. Given the volume of containers involved, authorities rely heavily on the bill of laden documents and factors such as country of origin, in order to select containers for targeted inspections. Because officials are stretched to capacity, and because wildlife products are far down the list of priority items of concern, containers claiming to contain wildlife products are often waved through un-checked.

With over 80 million containers being shipped every year, it is impossible to inspect every shipment arriving into a country.

What We Do

OceansAsia investigates shipping documents and manifests to establish key routes and players shipping in order to provide customs with intelligence and advanced notice of potential target containers. We also work closely with shipping and airlines in order to help improve their internal systems to reduce the chances of wildlife smuggling on their vessels.

Due to the nature of our work, we cannot share our methods or strategies. Intelligence-based conservation is all about keeping one step ahead of wildlife traffickers.

Close Menu
×
×

Cart